A Wonder to be Celebrated

Day 7 A Wonder To Be Celebrated

Today’s Reverb 15 prompt is: In her seminal book Bird by Bird, Anne Lamott offers the observation: “The evidence is in, and you are the verdict.”

Regardless of where you live in this crazy beautiful world, I’m sure you’ll agree it’s been a BIG year.

Today, I want to acknowledge that you are here and I am here and we are here.

We’re just… HERE.

That feels like a BIG DEAL.

And, that being said, I invite you to reflect on all that this evinces. What are you the verdict of?

(And if you have any doubt that you are a wonder to be celebrated, may I suggest you go back and look at your entry for Reverb15 Day 5?)

 

 

I love the idea of being a Wonder to be Celebrated.  I’m not quite as sure as I’d like to be that it is true.  This year has been a growing focus of knowing my personal wonder, trusting it, relying on it, acting on it and very most of all, deeply loving myself.  It is a journey, a work in process, a kind of homecoming.  I’ve learned along the way that there isn’t an end or a done. It’s more like unfolding a new page of the map I’m following.

I often think of life in terms of cooking.  This journey in the direction of self love has felt much like making soup.  Starting with the basic ingredients of where I am, the choice of the next flavors, the next additions is mine.  Tasting as I go along, allows for evaluating how the new ingredients are modifying and mingling with what was present.  Tasting allows for adjusting and savoring what new is arising.  There is a balance of complexity and simplicity, sometimes needing more attention and adjustment and other times just needing to simmer and blend.  So I’m celebrating today’s version of Wonder and am a bit curious to see what tomorrow’s version might be.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. You are indeed a wonder to be celebrated. And your soup analogy is perfect – love it!

    Like

  2. Noel says:

    a homecoming! love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

