Visiting The Moon

I see the Moon. The Moon sees me. Each time the moon and I connect, it is a new experience. Perhaps a bit larger or a little slimmer, its path shifting with the seasons. Every time there is a little thrill in the newness of discovery.

Five years ago I moved to the desert from my long time home on Narragansett Bay. The night sky here is very clear, far darker, and quite frequently without clouds. The stars and moon seem close to hand, more accessible. In some way they are more intimately revealed while residing in a vast expanse that touches the mountains at it’s edges.

This apparent closer proximity has prompted more frequent visits with my luminous neighbor. I find the lunar comings and going a more immediate part of my life. In it’s current path the moon rises as I’m going to bed in just the right spot for me to watch her ascending as I lay in my bed before falling asleep in moonlight.

Most of all I find I measure my days by the moon’s cycles. I entertain new possibilities with the New Moon, let go of what no longer serves me in the expansive release of the Full Moon and visit the places ‘between’ in the Dark of the Moon. I am surprised and reassured by the opportunity to have so many new beginnings. I can hold things a bit more loosely and dream a little more extravagantly when I’m held in the surety of a Lunar do over.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. What a lovely post for #reverb15!

    Like

  2. What a beautiful post! I’m just beginning to experiment with lunar cycles myself, so I found your last paragraph particularly interesting.

    Like

  3. I love how you’re dancing with the moon Corky! And pre-dream moonlight baths are simply the most magical aren’t they?

    Like

  4. Your writing is beautiful!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Ratika. I’m thrilled that you enjoyed the post

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

